

Crazies Hill and Cockpole Green Residents' Association

Annual General Meeting

17th May 2018 - Crazies Hill Village Hall at 7:30pm.

1. Attendees and Apologies :

Committee Attendees: Dave Smith (DS) (Chair); Phil Davies (PD); Sue Robinson (SR); Catharina Reynolds (CR) (Secretary), Graham Tweddle (GT); Richard Jones(RJ); Laura Lord (LL);

Other Village Attendees: B Pitcher; Rita McLoughlin-Pugh; John Coulson; Jim Rance; Adrienne Rance; Anne Whittaker; Trina Noyes; Judy Robson; Brian Robson; Sally Hart; Helena Johmoun; Maurice and Jenny Bendell; Liz Tweddle; Dick and Diane Bush; Duncan Templeton; Roger Avent; Selina Avent; Emma Leatham

Committee Apologies: David Noyes;

Other Apologies : Priscilla McNair; Sarah Houghton

- 2. Minutes of the last AGM 10th May 2017 agreed with one amendment to add David Noyes to the list of Committee members present at the meeting .
- 3. Philippa Chan (PC), Head Crazies Hill School:

3.1 Key highlights – Another busy and successful year with 93 children at the school. The school is building on the ethos –'A tree is known by its roots' from Matthew 2 v7. The children understand the significance of 'Relationship, Resilience and Respect'. There is a strong focus on manners. The school is keen to look at opportunities to work with the community such as the Litter Pick or singing for the WI. Philippa Chan asked the residents to spread the word about the school to encourage more pupils to join.

3.2 Questions and answers

- *Is the school full*? More pupils always welcome.
- Are residents permitted to use the school field for football and walking dogs? PC confirmed this was not permitted. There is possibly an issue on liability regarding games played on the field. Walking dogs should be prohibited on a school playing field for health reasons.
- *Residents voiced concern about parking* This is a constant problem and parents are consistently asked to be considerate and drive safely. Greater use can be made of the pub.
- One resident commented that the grounds and road areas near the school were so much *tidier*. This was appreciated and a result of the work done with the children to make them more responsible.



Crazies Hill and Cockpole Green Residents' Association

4. Chairman's Report from David Smith

Committee had worked hard to organise several events during the year. As well as the usual popular Easter Egg Hunt, BBQ and Carol Singing the Committee organised another Casino Night and a village social at The Horns. David Smith thanked outgoing committee members - Treasurer, David Noyes and Rita Mclaughlin-Pugh for their work during their years of service to the CHCGRA. David Smith asked the village for ideas on social events to get greater support. The purpose of events was to make a small profit to carry out works on the green. He also confirmed the Litter Pick would take place in term time so families could take part.

5. Treasurers Report

A copy of the end of year accounts was submitted. It was confirmed that after costs for cutting the village green and insurance the RA had incurred a loss of £848.32. However during this year the Committee had made a donation of £600 towards the school any contingency work on the Green and the Verges on the far side of the green which were owned and maintained by the RA.

6. Broadband Update

Phil Davies advised that a new Gigaclear project manager was in place and that work would start again on 24th May. Wayleaves had been given by Cayton Park and 25% of the fibre network was in place. It was confirmed Dick Bush had given access for Gigaclear to cross his land with the fibre cable from Blakes Lane to Highfield Road. The delays over the past year were caused because some landowners had asked for unreasonable amounts of compensation for the fibre network to be installed on their land. The meeting thanked Dick and Diane Bush for allowing the access to help move the project along.

7. Other matters

- 7.1 Diane Bush brought the plans for Crouch End for information
- 7.2 It was confirmed that the cutting of the green had been delayed due to obtaining further quotes for cutting.

8. Election of Committee Members.

Dave Smith (DS) (Chair); Phil Davies (PD); Sue Robinson (SR); Catharina Reynolds (CR) (Secretary), Graham Tweddle (GT); Richard Jones(RJ)(Treasurer); Laura Lord (LL); Sue Robinson (SR)

Proposed by Richard Jones ; Seconded by Dick Bush

9. The meeting closed at 8.45pm.